Zodiac Signs

When ever we meet a new person one of the first things we ask him is his zodiac sign. And after knowing it we form our perception of that person in the lights of the sign. A Leo may be a born leader where as a Piscean may be dreamy about life. The 12 zodiac signs not only tell us about our past, present and future they also help us explore deeper into the meaning of life. But going deeper into these signs may help us understand them better and may shed few myths associated with them.

Zodiac signs are mostly represented by animals or people. Indeed the word zodiac also literally means "circle of animals".

Observing sun's motion against the stars for an entire year would appear to trace out a circle in the sky called "ecliptic". The thin band of sky on either side of ecliptic is called the zodiac.

Each thirty degrees segment of the zodiac circle represents the one zodiac sign.

Your zodiac sign is that in which the sun was at the time of the year when you were born. Since the pattern is always same and the Sun is at any particular zodiac for a specific amount of time, we get the order: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.

Planets or the ruler of the zodiac sign

Every sign is linked to a planet which is called its ruler. It has been observed that the Zodiac Sign rising at the birth has a special significance for that individual. We have all the twelve signs of zodiac in our horoscope but their effect is determined by the positions of the planets in the signs.


Every sign is associated to one of the four elements dominating our universe. Fire, earth, air and water are these four elements and three signs fall in the category of each element.

Let us know more about them

Fire: Aries, Leo and Sagittarius belong to this category. The element fire desires freedom of action, the power to follow their will.

Earth: Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn are considered to be Earth signs. The element desires physical security.

Air: Gemini, Libra and Aquarius belong to the air element. Like Fire air also desires freedom but the freedom of thought, expression and movement.

Water: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces are all Water Signs. Like Earth these signs also desire security but they desire emotional security rather than physical.

Along with the elements our signs are associated with modalities (Cardinal, Fixed, Mutable) and Polarity (Positive and negative). When all these are observed together for a particular sign, we get the set characteristics of that sign. This helps in understanding that sign in a more through way.

Here is a table containing the various Elements and Modalities along with the signs that belong to each one of them.





















Zodiac Constellation Pictures | Signs Overview | Zodiac Symbols

Every sign has few essential features that they are associated with. They may vary from person to person depending on the placements of the planets at the time of the birth.


Aries (Ram)

March 21st to April 20th

Ruler: Mars

Element: Fire

Mode: Cardinal


Aries being a Fire sign is imaginative and assertive. The Aries person is said to be an initiator, one who starts a campaign. An Aries is willful, enthusiastic, and adventurous. They are born leaders but lacks persistence and stamina. Dependable, but lose focus easily and hardly sustain interest in long term

Taurus (Bull)

Aprill 21st to May 21th


Element: Earth

Mode: Fixed


Grounded, slow, steady, methodical are the key words associated with the Taurus sign. More than any other sign, the Taurus values the senses of human life. Hence they may at times be pleasure seeking. Good food, wine and sex and all other materialistic things make Taureans feel good.

Gemini (Twins)

May 22nd to June 21st



Mode: Mutable


Good communication skills, cleverness and curiosity are what the people of this sign are known for. But since all they do is collect information, they sometimes ignore the depth of the matter and go for superficial things. They can become unemotional and impersonal at times and are considered to be changeable and inconstant.

Cancer (Crab)

June 22nd to July 22nd

Ruler: Moon

Element: Water

Mode: Cardinal


Cancarians are very emotional and supportive people. But their being excessively emotional sometimes lead to possessiveness. This sign is often called 'the sign of home and family' as it likes to be linked to its roots always.

Leo (Lion)

July 23rd to August 22nd

Ruler: Sun




Leo reflects the embodiment of self. Leos can be self centered, arrogant and fixed. But their better side is that of being, generous, artistic, persistent and reliable. Leos, unlike Cancareans, signify moving away from home and family to discover their individual position.


August 23rd to September 23d

Ruler: Mercury

Element: Earth

Mode: Mutable


A Virgo is known for its ability change to adapt to life better. They are helping, perfectionists, practical. But they lack confidence and react to defeats and set backs. Virgo usually prefers to support rather than to lead.

Libra (Balance)

September 24th to October 23rd

Ruler: Venus

Element: Air

Mode: Cardinal


A Libra signifies importance of co-operation. They believe in fair and balanced view of life in every aspect. They believe in going beyond ego boundaries and finding peace, harmony and balance. They are great lovers of art and beauty but may get stressed easily by inharmonious interactions.

Scorpio (Scorpion)

October 24th to November 22nd


Element: Water

Mode: Fixed


Scorpio believes in experiencing things they way they are without expecting any ideal relationship to bloom. The key words associated with them are change, transformation, intense emotional involvement. They are intense, passionate and magnetic yet stubborn, unyielding and manipulative sometimes.

Sagittarius (Archer)

November 23rd to December 21st

Ruler: Jupiter

Element: Fire

Mode: Mutable


Sagittarius rises above the realms of individualism and tries to be a member of a much larger society. They give importance to deriving meaning from experience. They are afraid to give up freedom and are idealists. But their fear of being tied down may lead to problems in long time relationships and commitments.

Capricorn (Goat)

December 22nd to January 20th

Ruler: Saturn

Element: Earth

Mode: Cardinal


Capricorns are ambitious disciplined and determined. They are practical people and believe in believe in using their head more often than their hearts.The importance of social order is required in their lives for their personal fulfillment.

Aquarius (Water Bearer)

January 21st to February 19th

Ruler: Uranus

Mode: Fixed


Free thinking, unorthodox and perfectionists, Aquarius are a sign of creative activity of humanity. It loves freedom of thought, expression and movement. They are often utopian and their goals are too farfetched.

Pisces (Fish)

February 20th to March 20th

Ruler: Neptune

Element: Water

Mode: Mutable


The Pisces is often called the dreamer. They are mystic, sensitive and often escapist. They often get divided between human and the divine. They are very religious and withdrawing from the world may be one of their fancies. They and very caring and sensitive to other's feelings.


Zodiac Constellations

Signs Overview

Zodiac Glyphs And Symbols

Horoscopes Guide 2005 - All rights reserved. Ivan Simurina